Courage

The psychological experience of a rape survivor and her story of recovery & transformation.

Righting Now

Last year when my daughter told me that her college friend had been raped, I grieved for a young woman I did not know.  When I received a message today that Mary Beth Griggs had written an article about her experience, I will admit that I did not want to read about it.  It seemed too sad, too tragic, but I felt that if she had the courage to write it, I had an obligation to read it.  Mary Beth deserves to have her voice heard, as do so many others who do not have the strength to speak out.  Hers is a story not only of violation and tragedy, but also of triumph, survival, and hope. I am honored that she has allowed me to reprint her story here. The following words are hers:

a year ago today.

MARY BETH GRIGGS·TUESDAY, JANUARY 31, 2017

cw: sexual assault

Helpless.

Panicked.

View original post 1,360 more words

Leave a Reply

